Newbie - Looking for critique and general art-related help *Updated April 13*

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Newbie - Looking for critique and general art-related help *Updated April 13*

Hey Conceptart.org community!

I'd appreciate some critique on these 2 unfinished drawings that I did a while back, I've only worked on 3 in total (1 of which was in ms paint), so I'm an absolute noob when it comes to art (I guess the drawings speak for themselves). I'm trying to advance myself as an artist, right now I'm studying anatomy, perspective and composition and I do see some improvement in pencil and paper sketches, but there's another problem - whenever I try to draw using a tablet - I go back to my "ms paint" technique of drawing the outlines or lineart and then just filling it with colours, as if my perception has improved, but the technique has stagnated.

Right now my workflow goes something like this:

Lineart -> Filling in the lineart with colour -> More lineart -> attempts at shading -> details

Any suggestions on how to improve my technique - guides, tutorials, books, etc. would be greatly appreciated!

Name:  warhammerfanart1.png
Views: 295
Size:  480.2 KBName:  dota2project.jpg
Views: 284
Size:  441.5 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,013 Times in 690 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    You've already stated your own problem. I understand rushing into digital and wanting to be able to render epically is something you're striving for (particularly now when a lot of great artists are doing digital work) but it's not going to help you understand how color and light work any better. If you find traditional easier to work with, then use that to improve your knowledge first. Look up "Color and Light, a Guide for the Realist Painter" by James Gurney and keep practicing perspective, structure and anatomy .