Art: Watercolor Madness And Oily Oil Paint- Help a Noob in Need

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Watercolor Madness And Oily Oil Paint- Help a Noob in Need

I'm new to watercolors and I'd love some advice on how to use them. I'm having trouble mixing colors and it shows. I try to get different hues, but they all end up the same in the end. I'd love to make the colors pop out more but It's hard. I'm new to color. up till now I've only worked with graphite pencils so I'm used to being able to make different tones just by pressing harder on the pencil. Any advice on mixing colors?

Name:  1.JPG
Views: 640
Size:  396.3 KB

I also tried out oil paints this is my first attempt:

Name:  9.JPG
Views: 541
Size:  110.6 KB

It's drawn from life and there were 2 light sources (which flattened out things a bit). The perspective is off because I didn't really pay attention to it (yup the phone sucks a lot). I was just trying out the new paints. It has the same problems with color as my watercolor painting. It just looks boring. I'm also not sure how to push the paint around. Do you follow the shapes just like when you're drawing? I don't think I'll be using oil paint again because it dries too slow so I'll be switching over to acrylics but I guess they act the same mostly so it doesn't really matter at this early stage.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and I hope someone can give me some advice on these 2 mediums.

My sketchbook Please drop by. :-)
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Sooooo.... No one can help me with mixing colors? I'd be fine with a color theory book (for paints, specifically watercolors) I think. Any recommendations?
    I looked for some books on color, but they are mostly just general theory books.

Thanks
    Follows