Fundamental Problems! Please Help!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Fundamental Problems! Please Help!

I hope I'm posting this in the right place!
    Okay so I've sort of become stuck in a rut. My problem is that I'm currently studying 'Design for Film and Television' at university and I have to regularly produce finished 'visuals', but I feel as though I rushed straight into painting finished pieces and so I didn't have time to get the hang of composition and value and form first. It's like in trying to capture the detail, I loose the atmosphere and that I'll spend hours getting the details painted in and forget to first get down the fundamentals. Anyway I'll post some of my visuals from the last year. Could I possibly ask for some advice on how to work through the pieces and what aspects of them should be done differently to produce a more professional level of finish? I massively appreciate any help I can get on improving the way I work, and the work I produce, thank you (:

In order from old to new:

Name:  visex1.jpg
Views: 250
Size:  374.6 KB

Name:  visex2.jpg
Views: 238
Size:  343.3 KB

Name:  visex3.jpg
Views: 243
Size:  354.4 KB

Name:  visex4.jpg
Views: 239
Size:  200.1 KB

Name:  visex5.jpg
Views: 224
Size:  375.9 KB

Name:  visex6.jpg
Views: 221
Size:  238.1 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,494 Times in 744 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Did they ask you to do finished pieces without giving you a year or two of foundation courses? Or have you just not had enough time to absorb them? Is the ultimate end of the course to give information to set designers who will build the sets, or is the ultimate end really good concept art pieces? Just curious.