Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
    Thanks

From the Start: Learning to Draw

Hello! So, I'm a writer with basically no experience in drawing, however through viewing other artists' work became inspired to build my proficiency, primarily to allow me to draw my own characters, but also because I find the work of so many artists inspiring. My ability to draw is probably less than zero, but I'm determined to get better. I decided to start a sketchbook here in hopes of receiving lots of criticism and critique to help me improve. Thanks (:

Name:  heads.png
Views: 1443
Size:  422.8 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Everyone else hid under your bed, so I'm in your closet.
    Thanks
    Hey nixe, welcome to the forums. Good idea starting with the skull, learning the proportions of that really helps when drawing faces, not to mention you don't have to worry so much about likeness.

If I could give any advice to you it'd be make sure at draw what you see, not what you know things to be("symbols"). Also, I think it'd be a good idea to draw basic shapes in perspective, if even just as warmups. Bad perspective tends to be the first thing I see everyone have trouble with, and it affects pretty much everything in a drawing.

My Sketchbook Feel free to drop in and offer advice

Thanks
    Thanks very much. I just did a page on perspective and will do some more tomorrow, as well as some practice drawing lines. The perspective exercise reminded me a lot of when I learnt to draw 3D cubes in primary school - they went over *everything*!

Name:  perspective.png
Views: 2431
Size:  396.4 KB

Everyone else hid under your bed, so I'm in your closet.
    Thanks