Concept Artists Help Rates please?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Concept Artists Help Rates please?

Hi I am just beginning to do some freelance work, currently still a student, and I have done calculations and estimates, but I REALLY need a more experience freelance artist to let me know what is a reasonable rate, not too high or too low. I believe this will help me not only currently for this project, but for future references as well. A person, just graduating university had contracting me with a job offer, they told me the budget is undetermined for the time being, however they told me the concept art should be produced over the two month period July/August, but can be spread over the June/July/August. They told me they would need this much stuff done for their project:
    Main Town Hub plus surrounding area
    10 further themes/designs for levels and distinguishing features
    10 primary character designs
    30 secondary character designs
    15 enemy type designs
    6~7 bosses

ROUGHLYthat is 72 assets, which broken up in 3 months would give me 3 months to do 6 concepts weekly and 24 monthly. He wants the project done in a more simplistic style, like Wind waker, as the game will be a 2d side scroller. However, any way I calculate it, the project isn't going to be cheap, I don't want to devalue myself, but I don't want the employer to get scared away from concept art rate, I would love a job as a concept artist. I believe i've blown my chances in the past by saying a rate that honestly I was giving the employer the benefit of the doubt, but it was still too high.

Can anyone help me come up with a reasonable rate? Or how high are typically the budgets of employers like this for me to get a good estimate of a price range at least to begin negotiating?

my breakdown of the project is like this: