Help Me Please to Iimprove on This
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Help Me Please to Iimprove on This

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Help Me Please to Iimprove on This

I am a beginner working on value studies. I found this reference of mine that I wanted to do. This looks flat to me and the perspective is off on this. I used a round hard brush. Not sure If I got the
    values correct or not. Wasn't sure about the crashing of the wave as well or the rock, mud that is in the ref., Please help me to improve this value study. Also as I was working on this I wasn't sure how
    to do the rock, mud on the right. Or the water. Any advice would be appreciated.
    Please help me.
    Thanks
    Name:  crashingwave.png
Views: 482
Size:  196.8 KB

Name:  ocean surf.jpg
Views: 488
Size:  121.1 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I don't think this is too bad to be honest. I know it isn't exactly like your reference, but it reads well as a sketch and I think you should start to work on some of the details. Work on a small area first and concentrate at looking at the photo and studying the shape of the rocks, think about them in a 3d way and take you time. Correct things as you go along and don't worry if it doesn't come out photorealistic. Just keep it up!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    First off let me say good job on using a brush with 100% opacity it isnt easy but you will learn alot more that way. Now onto the crit.