[WIP] Jungle Background (environment help)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: [WIP] Jungle Background (environment help)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

[WIP] Jungle Background (environment help)

In a challenge to myself, I started a copy of some jungle reference, but I'm getting overwhelmed by all of the values in the picture. My background is coming out a mess of grey. Does anyone have advice on simplifying for painting, or how I should continue this piece? Here's my image with the reference.

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You can group all the values in your reference pic into two groups: a bright background and a dark foreground. Both the foreground and background are going to have "light" and "shadow" areas--so you want to find those four basic values that will convey the space of the image accurately.

Also, I'd suggest you slow down look A LOT more carefully at the edges and contours of the forms you're trying to copy. Right now you're just sort of gobbing down lines and tone that only vaguely approximate what's in your reference photo. You might have an easier time if you use an actual graphite pencil--a Wacom tablet just has a kind of squishiness to it that isn't well suited to precise linework.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Giacomo For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,208 Times in 775 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Use much much higher opacity. Start by drawing the image out, making sure that the large important shapes and structures are sound (in terms of proportion and perspective), then lay simple values on top. Try limiting yourself to 3-5 values to start with.

I also think it would be better for you to work on simpler images at this stage and focus on accuracy over complexity.

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dierat For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following