Steps for drawing portraits

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hello, I'm a beginner and I'm looking for some tricks or advices to draw portraits.

I found this (don't remember where):

Name:  635-GES138_lg.jpg
Views: 1404
Size:  30.1 KB

And I was hoping there was a tutorial or something related to this.

Here are some examples of what I've done so far portraying:

Name:  creedbatton.png
Views: 762
Size:  161.9 KB

Too much use of the smudging tool I think, I don't like that, but I didn't knew (neither now) how to mix colors other way. Here's the reference:

Name:  creedbratton67.jpg
Views: 756
Size:  29.4 KB

This was very rough I know. I mean, this was only a quick sketch for trying to see if I can place things correctly with a more difficult reference:

Name:  rftjktdfj.png
Views: 784
Size:  180.0 KB

The reference:

Name:  Slash-featuring-Myles-Kennedy-The-Conspirators.jpg
Views: 1258
Size:  50.2 KB

Oh and one more thing, long ago I used to visit this site and in that time I found something for complete beginners that it was like a bunch of assignments you had to do in order to develop some skills, I remember I saw something about perspective and there was an assignment of "drawing a self-portrait so you'll see in the future how much you've improved" can somebody tell me where's that topic?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    make a study of these 3 portrait and you will improve your skill a lot.

[IMG]Steps for drawing portraits[/IMG]

Then, you can see this sculpture is made of planes. You can try to identify these planes on real photos.
    Use a brush without opacity variations, and paint with solids colors.

Last edited by Looee; February 20th, 2013 at 05:41 PM.