Prints come out darker than screen

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Prints come out darker than screen

Hi everyone!

I was hoping you could help me with a problem I'm having. I'm sure this has been brought up before, but here goes. Whenever I print something I made in Photoshop it comes out darker than whats on screen. I'm a digital artist so I was taught to work in RGB for digital reasons. But I also want to print the stuff too. Do you guys know any tricks to get around that problem? Or should I do CMYK mode for things that are just for print? Thanks!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I was always told to work in CMYK to help resolve that problem--though prints will rarely ever look exactly as they do on screen. Having a monitor that is color calibrated properly will help you as well. For RGB files that I wanted to print, I had to go back and manually lighten and adjust the contrasts upon the final image files to ensure they didn't come out -too- dark in the final product. I've found that the type of product/paper you're printing on allows some variation in saturation and darkness as well.

Though I am still fairly new to printing myself, these are just some tiny tips in my current learning experience. Hope they help.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following