Thanks

Lightbulb God, will somebody just shoot Eisner?

I'm probably the only one on this whole site that feels this way, but I hate Eisner sooo much. Ever since I was a kid, I couldn't stand him. Reasons? Look at what he did to Disney. 'Nuff said. All of his little "ideas" and whatnot, he has compleately thrown that company out the window. I'm currently studying to become an aimator, leaning more towards the 2d side. What he said about "traditional being dead" is just shit. He's planning on going compleatly towards 3d now. Why? 'Cuase he was too dumb to realize that not only the animation makes a movie great, but the story as well. I'm preaching to the choir here, sorry. Anyways, doesn't he realize that the only 3d pic they've put out without Pixar was a total and absolute flop. Goodness, I hate this man so much. I could go on forever, but I'll save all of you. I really want to here your opinions on what going on in the animation industry right now, if you care. :cry:

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    take heart chum...as far as i know, michael eisner is no longer with disney. doesn't mean they'll do more 2d, but check out legacy animation studios...it's a studio made up of former disney 2d animators.

oh yeah...take a breath and calm down...count to ten...its gonna be okay.
    My Sketchbook

check out the website:

ten30one studios

Thanks
    I assume you're not laying all the blame for the decline in the US 'traditional' animation industry at Eisner's doorstep, though..?

I agree that he was probably instrumental in some extremely questionable decisions during his time at Disney but it's market forces, not any single executive, that have pushed the industry towards CG. The simple fact is that hand animation costs significantly more to produce than CG, so what we're seeing is simply an extension of the economically-driven trend that's been sending 2D animation to cheaper studios in the East for a very long time now.