By Crom!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: By Crom!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

By Crom!

A typical Conan painting, I've just started with the washes of color. I spent some a good amount of time with the face, I'm sure its not perfect. I thought it would be a good idea to ask for some guidance. I have little experience with digital painting.

And another question would be, what would be a good resolution to do a digital painting when you want to take care of finer details? I'm using a 2500 x 2500 canvas with this piece.

Edit: Put the final up front.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Last edited by J.R.Hollis; March 7th, 2013 at 10:20 PM.
    Sketchbooks:
    Virtual Sprite - New
    Cali to SC, The Joshua Hollis Story - Old

W.I.P. Threads:
    By Crom! - Done
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    well... your line art is not good also, there are a lot of problems with the structure of the character, if you make it better in the paper, use it, scan it to computer and paint it digitally....

Speaking specifically of Conan, who has a lot of artists for comic books, if you want to learn from studying these ones, I suggest you restrict your references to the work of Neal Adams, John Buscema, Barry Smith and Cary Nord... for painters, use Norem (he made a lot of covers for Marvel)... Use their work to see how the build the figure of Conan and how they gave some action for that comics....

best regards and keep going

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pauloricardo For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Ahh, thanks. I should have looked up those guys from the start! I love Norem's pulp art, thanks for the recommendation!