Reference Image Panel Plugin - An idea for those with programming knowledge.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Reference Image Panel Plugin - An idea for those with programming knowledge.

    Hey all,

    So have you even been working on a painting in Photoshop, need a reference image but don't have the space?

    ... I have.

    I tend to work on a small 11" laptop quite often with the tablet resting on the keyboard and programming all the buttons on the tablet that I need.

    Now because of the small screen real-estate if I ever need reference I either have to keep going between PS and the reference image or move PS and the image side-by-side within Windows.

    Anyway... I thought surely there must be a reference image plugin out there?!
    Think like in ArtRage how you can "pin" a reference image on your working file yet be able to move the reference image around.

    I want something like that.

    I did some searching on the web and the closest thing I found was to utilise Adobe Configurator 3 for custom panels.
    I managed to make a plugin that imported an image from my computer to the panels in Photoshop, however I thought it would be neat if it could be like the Navigator Panel in PS.
    So you could zoom in and out of the reference image, but not the working file.
    Also, with the plugin I made, you have to re-make the Reference Image Plugin everytime you want a new reference image which I think is a royal pain.

    Name:  Reference_Image_Panel_01.jpg
Views: 717
Size:  253.6 KB

    So, to sum it up:
    A Photoshop plugin which acts as a panel which allows you to load a reference image it and to be able to continously be able to load a new image to it.
    Also to have properties similar to the Navigation Panel within Photoshop allowing you to zoom in and out of the reference image and move across the image just like the spacebar.

    Here's a picture for an idea:

    Name:  Reference_Image_Panel_02.jpg
Views: 559
Size:  82.4 KB

    Now I have no idea how to program something like this.

    If anyone here knows of anything similar or wants to be awesome and program it I think the plugin would be a hit.

    Otherwise I'm going to read up on how to program something like this...

    Anyway, what do you guys/gals think of it as an idea?

    Cheers.

    www.travismillar.com

    Ever just woken up and gone "shit, does the world around me exist"?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to -Tragedy- For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    2,157
    Thanks
    2,921
    Thanked 2,803 Times in 941 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Try out paint tool Sai, i think it has this option you want.
    But it would be interesting to see it in ps

    Also i would like to suggest, i hope OP won't mind, color mixer panel like in Painter

    M

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    785
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 270 Times in 197 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    If I understand you correctly I use this http://www.fadsoft.net/AlwaysOnTopMaker.htm

    This way you can have photoshop maximized and but always have your image ref on top. I use it with lovecastle so there is always a little naked person in the corner of my screen that no window can go over the top of at work so when my computer is rendering (I am a 3d artist) I can gesture draw.

    -----------------------------------------
    My Sketchbook
    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...234403&page=10
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by meth View Post
    Try out paint tool Sai, i think it has this option you want.
    But it would be interesting to see it in ps

    Also i would like to suggest, i hope OP won't mind, color mixer panel like in Painter

    M
    A colour mixer panel would be pretty awesome, you can get one here http://anastasiy.com/panels but I don't think it's as good as the one in Painter.
    I have used Sai, but I prefer PS personally.

    Quote Originally Posted by Whirly View Post
    If I understand you correctly I use this http://www.fadsoft.net/AlwaysOnTopMaker.htm

    This way you can have photoshop maximized and but always have your image ref on top. I use it with lovecastle so there is always a little naked person in the corner of my screen that no window can go over the top of at work so when my computer is rendering (I am a 3d artist) I can gesture draw.
    Cool, thanks. I'm downloading it now.

    I still wouldn't mind something within Photoshop, something that allows you to zoom in and load a picture at your own will without having to go to other software.
    But hell, if it does the same job, why be nit-picky?

    I'll still have a look at programming. A friend of mine may be able to help with some monetary persuasion as he's a games developer.

    Thanks.

    www.travismillar.com

    Ever just woken up and gone "shit, does the world around me exist"?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to -Tragedy- For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    This would be an awesome plugin! - is there a similar option for mac?
    What I do is just bring in the photo reference into a separate layer and flick the visablity on/off
    OR
    Bring it into another PS document and tab in-and-out between the two. (shortcut mac : control + tab)

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lisbon, I think...
    Posts
    912
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 153 Times in 107 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Why not float the reference window?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    840
    Thanks
    267
    Thanked 182 Times in 92 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    OR try IrfanView. There is an option for "always on top" I use this all the time for ref images. Get it HERE!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •