Realistic faces?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Realistic faces?

Name:  realism attempt.png
Views: 359
Size:  626.4 KB
    First of all, I hope I inserted the file correctly...

Anyway, hello! I'm new here, fresh from DeviantART. About ten years ago, I started drawing...Manga. Not just manga. Really, really terrible manga. And I drew that for much too long before realizing that I should learn how to draw properly before branching off into anything stylized, so now I'm starting over from scratch. The thing I'm currently struggling most with is faces, and I'd love to get some critique on this drawing, which is the closest I've gotten to realism in a while.

To be honest, I'm more than a little intimidated by this whole site. I've lurked around for a little while before making an account, and I've seen some incredibly amazing work here that I know I won't be able to compare with for many many years. However, people seem really nice, so I'm going to give it a shot; I'm pretty desperate for critique that isn't either "lol cute" or a flame.

To the point: This drawing is from a little while back, and looking at it again, I can see a lot of things wrong with it. Most obviously, the mouth is too narrow and something's wrong with the chin. The shape of the neck is weird, almost upside down, something that I'm currently working on improving in general. The hair was supposed to look messy, but it just looks sloppy, and of course there's the classic "the other eye won't look right, I'll hide it with hair!"