Portfolio usability
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Portfolio usability

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Portfolio usability

Hello,

My name is Aaron and I've been a professional artist for about 5 years now. I've reviewed many portfolios in my spare time and for hiring purposes. I've been apart of the artistic online community for a number of years and there are some suggestions I'd like to offer, based on the most common things I personally find irritating and could cost you a potential job.

Employers and clients simply do not have time to look at your portfolio. They just don't. There are never enough hours in the day to do what needs to be done. Even if the role they are trying to fill is absolutely necessary it is still an inconvenience to look through hundreds of portfolios. Many employers won't open attachments as the potential for viruses are just too great, so for the most part they like to see online, digital portfolios. Now considering they don't have any time to spare looking at your portfolio, you want to make their browsing experience as fluid, responsive and as fast loading as possible. You don't want the interface to be confusing, you don't want to have to click more than 2 times to start viewing your work and you don't want an image to take longer than two to three seconds to load. I promise that if your portfolio is a struggle to use, and the employer is rushed for time (which is almost always the case) they won't even look at your work and that is a shame because they may have liked what they saw, but they never got that far. Usability is the foot in the door, your work is the sales pitch.