Art: Photo Questions
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Photo Questions

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Photo Questions

Hi,

I'm new to digital photography and have just bought a Olympus c5060.

I have noticed that you can store the pictures that the camera takes in various file formats.
    I normally take photos in Tiff format as the format is lossless.

The camera also takes pictures in RAW format.
    I just wanted to know what this file format is?, and what are the advantages/disadvantages of using it?

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Lightbulb

tiff is a very beefed up way of storing digital media images. it also can take up a lot of room.

RAW is very argued format. For the most part, in digital cameras, the light is recieved, processed and then coded into varies media formats such as jpeg, bmp, tiff, etc. RAW is the unprocessed, uncompressed media that will or will not contain the original white balance and various other useful tidbits.

Now, if you take photo's for printing and sharing with family and friends, you might just want to stick with tiff or jpeg. However, if you take photos with the intention of image processing and editing with photoshop and whatnot, i would suggest using raw. *Be warned* RAW is an argued format that is not universally standard and supported like the other formats mentioned. So you might want to take some test shots and try loading them into a photoediting program first before you try recording babies first steps. :btu:

"and on the eigth day, God awoke and decided that men needed to argue profusely with one another, and thus behold, internet web forums came into being..."

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks for your reply maddness,

I'll take some shots using the RAW format and try 'em out.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following