Sketchbook: Aliciane wants to improve
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Aliciane wants to improve

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Aliciane wants to improve

Hello everyone

Like a lot of people, I've been watching and reading this website for a long time, but I was always too shy to register and post. I'm gathering my small amount of courage in order to start a sketchbook here. I know that there are already so much threads in this website, therefore I do not expect people to have a lot of time to specifically give me advice ^^ (but hey, don't hesitate if you have something to say !)
    However the simple fact of having a public thread for that is motivating, in my opinion. And by simply browsing and reading other people's threads, I've already learnt so much things

I'll introduce myself a bit. I'm French and I'm 22. I'm an amateur, I'm entirely self-taught as my studies have really nothing to do with art. This means I don't have as much time as I would want to practice, but also that I've got no delay to reach the level I want to have, since I don't need to enter a specific school or so. I hope you have nothing against amateur people, since there are a lot of professionals here, I would not want to seem displaced :s

However, being self-taught also means that I've learnt in a bit of random order, and I realized recently that I lacked several things related to basics that I would like to correct. Anatomy, perspective, composition, light, edges, almost everything I think >< Especially because I'm a bit "perfectionist" and I used to spend really too much time on each piece, instead of doing several sketches, studies, that would have teach me more.

For you to know the resources I'm currently studying are :
    - Loomis' Books (Currently reading "Head & Hands", will then move to "Figure Drawing" & "Successful Drawing")
    - Jack Hamm's "Drawing Scenery"
    - James Gurney's "Imaginative Realism"