First time painting with traditional medium, need advice.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Red face First time painting with traditional medium, need advice.

I don't really know where to start
    I wanna go for Acrylic or Watercolor but I don't really know which brand of paint I should be avoiding and the brushes I should get.
    My budget is 80$
    I'm hoping this isn't too tight
    As for my experience I have been drawing for the majority of my life and I've been painting digitally for a few months...not very well either.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,948 Times in 2,394 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    What type of painting you like will determine the type of brushes. Softer brushes are better for more detailed paintings and smoother transitions and smoother surface quality. Bristle brushes are better for the way I paint which is an impressionist looser style.
    Good brushes are expensive Winsor Newton series 7 sables or Rosemary and Co., or Robert Simmons signets for bristles. Any paint you buy should be artist grade if you can afford it. Stay away from things that say hue, like cadmium yellow hue. Artists grade paints like Winsor Newton, Blockx, Holbien, Sennelier, Rembrandt, Old Holland, are better made paint than Grumbacher or Liquitex which even thought hey claim to be artist grade they are still inferior paint with much higher binder to pigment ratios than the other paint I mentioned.

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 2,334 Times in 1,438 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Acrylic and watercolor are vastly different media. They need different tool sets, as well. You should decide which one you want to try first.