Lighting and Form Critique

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Lighting and Form Critique

Hey guys so... as you may have already guessed I'm new to painting -I work in a very cartoony style so normally when I colour I go for a more cell shaded look with a little bit of blending here and there to create soft shadows where necessary.

Thing is, I don't want to be limited to that and I think that learning to paint properly is going to teach me a lot of things about form, light and colour which will make my cartooning work stronger.

So here is my first attempt at 'painting' one of my characters, this is in no way finished but I've hit a bit of a wall so decided to seek out some help

I'm having particular trouble with the nose and how it joins on to the face, I don't really know how to convey the form (having a similar problem with the eyes)

I greatly appreciate any critiques, particularly ones focused on light, form and colour. I know the lineart and anatomy are by no means perfect but that's not what I intended to practice with this piece (although if you notice anything you think is worth mentioning I'll still be happy to hear your thoughts)

Thanks in advance everyone!

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,900 Times in 2,544 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    The problem is you're just trying to make this up, it seems anyway? Form is conveyed by light and shadow - how the light illuminates the form and how the shadow describes the volume of the form.

What I would suggest is sculpting up a simple head maquette or two to study how the light and shadow work. Of course a mirror is good for that too but the maquete is a little more flexible and can be observed under a variety of contolled light easier...while you sketch.