how do I know if my monitor colors are correct?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: how do I know if my monitor colors are correct?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy how do I know if my monitor colors are correct?

I'm new to using dual monitors, and both monitors to my computer are by different companies. one is a dell 19inch, and the other is a 24 in VIZIO television. They seem to run fine, but after just watching a youtube video tutorial on one screen and copying the lesson on the other, I noticed that the images they had in the tutorial had what appeared to be much darker/ richer colors than I was getting through doing the same exact thing.
    My colors seemed washed out in comparison.

I took the image that I was creating, and I pulled it up on my other monitor (the one running the youtube video) and the colors seemed the same on both screens. so it was the youtube video that was running at another color setting, from what I'm assuming. This surprised me since it is the company that made the program I am learning (blender)'s website I had the video running at HD settings.
    I've run the windows 8 color correction/ calibration program on both monitors so they should be correct, so what is it that I'm seeing?

Are the colors in the video different because of the way the video has been exported?
    is there something I should change with my color settings?
    How does one know what the "real colors" are that are being created, so you know what you have created on your monitors will be seen the same on other computers.

Or does any of this matter so long as both of my monitors are lining up?
    I'd hate to learn bad color habits due to bad calibrations/ settings, and then have to completely relearn because of bad habits. I'm new to digital, so everything I get used to now, may be hard to break later on. It's almost how you don't want to learn to play guitar with all of your strings untuned.