Sketchbook: Laying the Foundation - A Newbie's Sketchbook.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Laying the Foundation - A Newbie's Sketchbook.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Laying the Foundation - A Newbie's Sketchbook.

Hi Guys.

I started digitally drawing about 2-3 weeks ago. I used to draw on paper frequently but I stopped about 5-6 years ago. I'm just getting back into practice, and of course I'm using a Tablet now! I'm also new to colouring, I used to shade when using paper.

Please criticise my work and fear not for my emotional state, I can take your harshest words (As long as they are constructive).

I'm aiming to become as good as Nicholas Kay (Google "Nicholas Kay illustration"). I'm going for that kind of Photo realistic painting. However my end goal is to become a character concept artist/designer.

I've not got much of a Sketchbook at the moment. Just paintings in progress, I do plan to do some anatomy studies and drawing exercises, but I'm just enjoying painting characters at the moment!

Name:  Helmet Small.jpg
Views: 307
Size:  42.9 KB

Last edited by Heald; December 14th, 2012 at 06:15 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Here is my work so far. This is spread over 1.5 weeks. The Stencil Man was my first, then the Orc, now I'm working on the Templar. I've already learned o much that I could easily improve the Orc! I have still yet to do some drawing exercises and anatomy studies!

Name:  Punching Man Stencil.jpg
Views: 176
Size:  49.8 KBName:  Punching Man Colour.jpg
Views: 148
Size:  47.2 KBName:  Flex Man.jpg
Views: 144
Size:  37.9 KBName:  Orc Stencil.jpg
Views: 148
Size:  96.2 KBName:  Orc Coloured.jpg
Views: 154
Size:  79.1 KBName:  Templar Helmet.jpg
Views: 157
Size:  169.5 KBName:  Templar.jpg
Views: 151
Size:  155.3 KB

Thanks
    Follows
    Following