Where do I start?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Where do I start?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Where do I start?

Hi all. This is my first posting on this site, so be nice.
    I am a fairly decent traditional artist. Until a few months ago, I have been of the opinion that computers are scary devil machines that want to hurt me. Recently, I have decided to catch up with the rest of the art world and learn to use the scary devil machines and perhaps someday become their overlord.
    I have photoshop and painter. I also have a wacom tablet. This means nothing, however, because when I attempt to use them I lose all of the artistic ability that I possess and make pictures that a 4 year old would scoff at. I don't know where to begin, what to work on first, how to start learning the programs, or getting used to a tablet. I know where I want to end up (visual development), but I can't seem to find the starting point.
    I'm looking for any insight, words of wisdom, witty antecdotes, tutorial recommendations, classes, etc that will help me out.
    Thanks for helping!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I think the two things that most people have a hard time with when transitioning from traditional to digital are; getting used to looking at the monitor not where your hand is, and the overwhelming options you now have at your disposal.

For the first problem all all can say is that the more you draw on it the faster you'll get used to it. I don't even notice it anymore, and even prefer it because my hand does not obscure my drawing. I have not drawn anything on paper in around 10 years now. I now even have an android tablet for on the go sketching, although since I'm drawing directly on the screen I find that my hand gets in the way.