Sketchbook: Beginners Sketchbook! (Critique Very Welcome)

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

Beginners Sketchbook! (Critique Very Welcome)

Name:  thumbnail.jpg
Views: 142
Size:  7.3 KB

Some still lifes:
    ( Click to show/hide )
    Name:  1384938622336.jpg
Views: 323
Size:  505.1 KBName:  img_20131024_223146.jpg
Views: 328
Size:  477.0 KBName:  1384938866888.jpg
Views: 329
Size:  568.2 KBName:  img_20131027_193821_1.jpg
Views: 331
Size:  440.3 KBName:  1385075941812.jpg
Views: 327
Size:  349.4 KBName:  1384938190919.jpg
Views: 326
Size:  474.1 KBName:  img_20131120_120727.jpg
Views: 312
Size:  435.4 KBName:  1385076124258.jpg
Views: 308
Size:  416.5 KB

Hello, I'm just starting out so these still lifes aren't the best - yet.

I go to art classes only once a week. Definitely not enough, but there's simply no more classes except for that one. So for the majority of the time I I practice at home, post on forums like this one and read art books whenever I feel that I need new information.

I'm working at my desk, it's a pretty good environment except for the fact that I don't have a board so some drawings look elongated since the paper is flat on the table. I'm trying to find a desk board in my town before I order one on ebay, but it looks like I'm not going to find it any time soon, so I'll just have to get one from the internet.

I usually use charcoal as you can see, but I also like pencil. In fact, I like pencil more. It's more convenient, it's non-messy and I just like how it handles. But, all the still lifes that I do in pencil look like shit for some reason I'm not aware of, they just don't register/read at first glance. I'm starting to think that I should downscale the size of the paper when working in pencil, since it takes a lot longer to shade in it, than it is in charcoal.