On the early beginning; tablet or paper?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

On the early beginning; tablet or paper?

Hello,

I'm studying concept art on my own, although is more correct to say I'm studying painting and concept art is the goal.

In any case, I own an Intuos 4M tablet. I have already work on paper before since last year I went to private painting lessons, which I did all with pencil and paper. I did mostly focus on human physiology during the year. However, I should had start with the basics, apples, boxes etc in order to master perspective, shadows(Which I have previously work with, but nothing close to master it), lighting etc

Now the question is:

Shall I do this on paper or tablet? Or both?

I already master the tablet, although I m still learning the program Corel Painter Sketch Path* but have a basic medium understanding of it that allows me to use it with no complications that may endanger the work.

Thank you very much for your time.

*I tried photoshop, but the program install had too many bugs so I abandon it for the moment.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    In my opinion, traditional tools is the best start, because they can give you a understanding on how to paint digital (for example the style with which you will have to paint with digital "oils" is not different than the traditional methods. I'd it would be better to work on a traditional tool first (in this case pencil) until you get comfortable with it, and then you can move to full digital! However the traditional will always be the base so it's best to keep up with it from time to time

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Six Winged Angel For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Six Winged Angel View Post