Need help with perspective
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Need help with perspective

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Need help with perspective

Hello,

I'm relatively new to digital arts. I've been messing around with perspective and on my new project I am stuck, because I don't know if it is right. It looks right, but not sure if it really is.
    The thing is, I started with a one-point perspective... then, for the houses on the left side I added another vanishing point, so it became a 2 point perspective. My problem now are the houses on the right side. For them I added the vaninshing point number 3. Both houses share the vanishing point number 2 in the middle of the pic.

If I want the houses to stand parallel to each other, do I have to use vanishing point number one also for the houses on the right hand side?

Here's a pic:

Name:  help.jpg
Views: 335
Size:  67.4 KB

Hope somebody can help me out.

Thanks in advance for help!

Cheers André

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    To answer your question, yeah, use VP1 for the houses to stand parallel, at the moment the street would be a cone shape i think with VP3 being used. There's also a chance that VP1 & VP2 could be too close to each other but I'm not entirely sure. :X
    You could also use 1 point perspective if you wanted the classic western looking down the street view.

Perspective Made Easy by Ernest Norling is a good book for perspective understanding, or TAD do some good videos on it too if you need to brush up. Hope this helps!

Last edited by Kode; December 11th, 2012 at 05:42 PM.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Kode For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,064 Times in 398 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by a-k-m View Post
    Hello,
    If I want the houses to stand parallel to each other, do I have to use vanishing point number one also for the houses on the right hand side?