Identifying colors
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Identifying colors

Hello, beginner here. I'm trying to paint digitally for the first time, and I don't know how to match colors from a visual reference to the palette. For example, while attempting to paint an apple, I haven't a clue which color to start with, or how to select colors for highlights. Does anyone simply start with primary colors and mix as if one was working with real paint? Or do most find the exact color of interest from the palette?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

dpaint is offline Registered User Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,889 Times in 2,359 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    I use real paints but it might help to decide which primary you think the color is. From there place your color note and then compare to the thing you are trying to copy. You can then adjust the idea of the color based on the comparison you make. So say you start with a red apple, pick a color of red you think it is close to and paint with it then compare what you've painted to the real thing. Decide if it needs to be lighter darker or needs more saturation or less. Keep doing that for all the colors you see.

Bumskee used to have a painting apple an tutorial on here but the image links are broken to the one I have bookmarked. Maybe someone else has the image steps saved

Last edited by dpaint; December 10th, 2012 at 09:33 PM.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following