Thanks

Copyright issues

Umm, yeah, I'm wondering if you have some info on copyright issues.

It's very hard(for me at least) to find reference images without finding them in a book, magazine, or on the web.

That is; you'll find them if you search long and hard, but they're mostly copyrighted/someone else's work.

As an artist, I can appreciate the fact that photographers want to copyright their creations just as much as a painter would want to copyright/protect his/hers.

What i'm wondering is; can I use an image I find on say Google Image Search, as a reference, and when my artwork is done, claim the copyright(for my work)?

After all, this painting based on a photo(or photos) is my work in that case, although the original photo is his/her work.

So how am I to go about this?

Do these rules only apply if I'm about to sell any of my stuff, or does it not matter?

Pretty 'childish' questions perhaps, but I haven't really had to think about stuff like this before.

I only took up drawing/painting again very recently, and would like to make more out of it than I've done so far.

On my site, I have put 'copyright' on some of the images, because they are my work. But I haven't sent in any applications or forms to get a 'legal copyright'(if that's even needed).

So.....I guess I just need some general info on how this works.

These questions arose after I saw how the makers of the Terminator site said we couldn't use images from the Terminator movies, except as very loose references.

I guess I wouldn't want anyone to copy my work and put their copyright on it, even though that was their work, so... Copyright issues

Guess perhaps I answered my own questions there at the end....

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    BUMP because I haven't gotten any real answers to a couple of the important questions.

Thanks
    Be nice to John P. Everyone or i'll eat your feet off.:mad:

Thanks