The Major Art School Effect
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: The Major Art School Effect

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

The Major Art School Effect

I typed this through once and it all looked like an advertisement,
    so just so people don't think its spam, I'll remove the name of the school and replace it with "Major Art School." This should be sufficient since my question isn't all about this particular school anyways.

I'm wondering,
    and my head is a bit in the clouds here as I'm still a beginner,
    why is it that seemingly every majorly successful concept artist came from Major Art School? I mean, isn't it true? I'm not putting down other people's art, but I'm talking about general career success. Lots of great concept artists come from other schools, but it seems like of the ones having the most successful careers, I was looking through their alumni and almost every single artist I looked up to was on that list. Of course there are a number of other schools with similar levels of success, but still it seems a few schools do MUCH better than all of the others.

It doesn't make any sense. It isn't as if the degree being from a certain school matters in art. I mean, could it really be the school itself? Clearly there can be good and bad art schools, but what could possibly make one or two particular art schools have such successful alumni? Surely most of the stuff to learn about art is already in books, surely they don't have some special secret to making good art that nobody else is allowed to know. Do they just hire the top employees? Surely other art schools can hire fantastic employees, they all charge a ridiculous amount. Are they just really picky and only accept portfolios of students who are already at a top level of success?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following