Any helpful critique is welcomed
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Any helpful critique is welcomed

Hello.
    Any critique and advice is more than welcomed. I do not have any formal art training or courses so any literature or help is more than useful. Thank you for your time in advance.
    Name:  2mic.jpg
Views: 267
Size:  158.4 KB
    Name:  1mic.jpg
Views: 257
Size:  208.9 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    You need to pay closer attention to how the features of the face actually look like, and not how you think they look. Right now you have drawn the noses, mouth and eyes more like symbols, than how they look in reality. I once read about an exercise that involves copying a photo upside down, that way you learn how to observe better. I've never tried it before, so dunno if it's actually helpful, but just a thought (:
    Here you can find some really useful books.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Theeroos View Post
    You need to pay closer attention to how the features of the face actually look like, and not how you think they look. Right now you have drawn the noses, mouth and eyes more like symbols, than how they look in reality. I once read about an exercise that involves copying a photo upside down, that way you learn how to observe better. I've never tried it before, so dunno if it's actually helpful, but just a thought (:
    Here you can find some really useful books.
    Thank you. I will try that.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Right now I think you're copying without understanding. Advice would be to get some anatomy books (loomis and bridgman for example) and keep a sketchbook with you to draw people.

Rinse and repeat.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to mimer For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    How do you consider that I should try understanding anatomy

Thanks