Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Nandos' sketchbook

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Nandos' sketchbook

Hello everyone.

Little something about myself first:

My name is Mika and I come from Finland. I am studying at Digital Arts and Entertainment program in Belgium to become a technical artist. I am currently here as an Erasmus student, following mostly first year classes. But if everything goes well, I'm planning to enroll as a regular international student next academic year. I am interested in 3D modeling and animation, and digital painting. I'm also trying to get better in drawing. I hope that creating this sketchbook will help me to get a little bit more disciplined, but also improve my skills over time. So your comments, feedback, and advice are more than welcome here

The idea to create this sketchbook came from my Pre-production teacher while we were painting fruits in class. So here are my two pieces

They both took approximately 2 hours to paint. I'm not very satisfied with cast shadows, they were the hardest parts to make and I think it shows.

Last edited by Nandos; November 24th, 2012 at 02:33 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hello Mika, welcome to the boards!

In both of the paintings you're missing some shading principles. This is easily checked by adding a black layer on top of all the other layers and turning its blending style on Hue. See the example below;
    Name:  comments.jpg
Views: 250
Size:  19.0 KB
    You will notice that you almost have the same value for each change in plane. I can see that you're thinking of a highlight and reflect light which is good. Now try to get the core shadow and occlusion shadow back in it.