The first time I saw form
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: The first time I saw form

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

The first time I saw form

When I started drawing I tried studying perspective and I thought I understood it. I knew the basic rules, I knew the vanishing point, the horizon line, how to draw different shapes in different perspectives, etc. I knew how form was supposed to look like and why it was supposed to look like that.

But I never really saw form.

I was drawing this gooey amoeba character one day and I needed to draw a wrapping line around his arm (for some aesthetic reason). I couldnt get it to look right, but after really thinking about it I feel like this huge light bulb went off over my head and I said out loud "Holy shit. I see the form of his arm. Its like that stupid cylinder i was drawing over and over". For the first time I felt like my drawing was a tangible object. It was probably the biggest breakthrough I've ever done in art, even though It sounds so incredibly simple. Being able to finally understand why lines wrap around objects the way they do was really exciting for me. It sounds like something a middle school kid figures out in basic art class, but for some reason it was so different than everything I have ever experienced when drawing. It was the first time I saw 3d in a 2d surface. ever since I have been progressively getting better and better at seeing things as 3d objects and not as simple shapes on a paper. It totally changed the way I draw.

Have any of you had these really simple, yet mindblowing mental "clicks" when it comes to fundamentals? I tried to explain this to a friend that doesnt draw much and she told me "Duh. of course". But theres so much to it. even though it has been a year since I found this out, I still am so humbled by the amount of things I can learn about simple forms and other fundamentals.

Anyway, just my rambling for the night. Sorry for wasting your time!