portrait painting help please?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: portrait painting help please?

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

portrait painting help please?

Hello, I'm new to CA and this is my first time painting a person. I'm using PSE and blur's good brush set. I have no idea what colors I should use for what part (I'm using a color swatch from a tutorial.) I wanted to go for a more rough, painterly look, but I ended up taking a lot of time, working in small strokes and blending, which I still don't really get how to do on PSE.

BG/composition aside, I think the skin tone looks kinda oily, blurry, and bland.. I don't like the eyes either.. I used a very dark brown to outline the darkest parts on the eyes, nose and mouth, but they seem too dark and too crisp but I don't know how to fix that.

Do I need more contrast? details? I'm totally lost. Crits and suggestions please.

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by traumgerine; November 15th, 2012 at 05:44 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,476 Times in 731 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Is your sketch layer on top of your paint layer? It's far enough along to move the sketch to the back (or biff it -- but you probably want to keep it until you block the hair in). The sketch lines are distracting at this point.

Well. It's a competent blocking in. The source image is a big unexciting, mostly because of the soft lighting. It's not giving you much form to work with.