First watercolor attempt. Really could use some help.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

First watercolor attempt. Really could use some help.

First off thanks for taking a look!

This is my first attempt at watercolors (actually painting of any sort) and really trying to push this piece to not only be completed but to be somewhat satisfied with it.

I could use some pointers on the piece as it stands (problems, suggestions, likes/dislikes) and how to make it...well....better.

Appreciate your time!

Name:  117fi.jpg
Views: 409
Size:  371.9 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    digging that mask, man! nice concept. the main thing I would say is add more contrast to your values, it looks a bit flat right now.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to flackattack For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks for the reply flack. Is this the right direction? I started on the scarf since your comment and want to make sure I am heading in the right direction.

Appreciate the help!

Attached Images Attached Images  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi,

New here, but have been working in watercolors (with various degrees of success, haha) myself for a little while. I have a couple of things I would like to share with you:
    1: I think you would benefit from renting a few books from the library on watercolor, so that you understand how the medium can be used to your benefit more. It looks like you are struggling in a few places here (the hair, and opacity of the paint in general stand out to me) Some books that have helped me are:
    http://www.amazon.com/Stunning-Crystal-Glass-Watercolorists-
    Capturing/dp/1581807538/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=2A19OHUD77IA U&coliid=IV69OM0CT5PAN