Sketchbook: Just starting out

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Just starting out

Hi everyone just thought I would introduce myself my name Is Leo Nguyen I used to draw a lot when I was younger but have stopped for more than a decade, I am 22 years old now and am starting to draw again hopefully with a lot of practice patience and effort I can become a professional one day. I welcome all suggestions, advice, recommendations and critiques as I am here to learn and hopefully make some friends.

I currently have no formal training and am mostly self taught the closest thing I have to formal training is a talented friend who works in comics that gives me advice from time to time which is super awesome, most of the time I draw from reference currently as I cannot compose images on my own when I attempt to draw from my mind currently they don't come all that nice!

I'm interested in both traditional and digital art, ideally I would love to learn how to get really good with pencils then scan and colour my work inside Adobe Photoshop + Corel Painter but would also love to learn how to draw in those programs as well.

If you guys could recommend anything to help me improve such as books tutorials or tips that would be awesome! I would like to learn how to do Illustrations & comics! I will upload the stuff I've drawn in the last three days in this post

Name:  580834_118578934963680_2081078071_n.jpg
Views: 435
Size:  70.6 KB

Random stuff in my sketch book

Name:  598936_112899402198300_267155598_n.jpg
Views: 382
Size:  58.8 KB

Was watching black dynamite and thought I would pause and draw the scene

Name:  247749_116696935151880_1121249268_n.jpg
Views: 522
Size:  60.2 KB

My attempt to draw a girl referenced a photo

Name:  60327_120058618149045_1989045644_n.jpg
Views: 553
Size:  67.5 KB

I'm a huge batman fan and this is a drawing referenced from one of the "Dark Knight Rises" posters