I am looking for a specific book on anatomy
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: I am looking for a specific book on anatomy

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Talking I am looking for a specific book on anatomy

I have been drawing the human figure long enough that I can draw it well enough to be near realistic and people have even me complimented on my anatomy drawings. But as an artist I am still never happy. My problem is that I do not have a good basic construction for drawing the head and figure. When drawing the human figure from life or imagination I usually start making random marks over the entire page until the figure starts taking shape. But this causes problems; such as I never truly develop a style, make simple mistakes, still have trouble placing features on the face, drawing the form in complex poses can be troublesome, and never I can truly draw a figure without looking at reference.

I am wanting a book that will give me good basis for figure drawing without a model reference.

I already have books from these artist
    Andrew Loomis
    Burne Hogarth
    Jack Hamm
    George Bridgeman

thank you

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

dpaint is offline Registered User Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,878 Times in 2,354 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Jack Faragasso http://www.amazon.com/Mastering-Draw.../dp/0966711300 The best book on the Reilly method. Teaches the building blocks for planar construction a little dense but worth it if you stick with it and maybe augment it with some videos from Glen Orbik or other Reilly guys like Em Gist or Ron Lemen

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by dpaint View Post