First painting with Photoshop
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

First painting with Photoshop

This is my first time using PS Elements so I know it's not a masterpiece and I know about the anatomy problems. I used what I knew about acrylics to paint this. Any tips would be helpful.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    I'm the guy that does his job! You must be the other guy!

http://conceptart.org/forums/showthr...73#post2633373 <- longest link to a sketchbook ever.
    http://thesketchersden.blogspot.com/
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Start by solving the problems you know about. It's not just anatomy, they're general figure drawing problems. I recommend Michael Hampton's book.
    http://www.amazon.com/Figure-Drawing.../dp/0615272819

There's problems in value and color too. There's good stuff in the stickies in this forum you can learn from.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,819 Times in 936 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    If you could upload a smaller version of this so we don't have to scroll the image it would be appreciated.

Other than that, I strongly suggest some life drawing. Doing figure and gesture studies will do wonders for your art.
    All you need for that is a pencil and paper. Observe the interaction of light and shadow on different surfaces, which is
    how we perceive 'color.' I would also start by nailing some basic shapes and understanding how to present a 3d form in
    a 2d image.

Your rendering is completely wonky and flat at the moment. All of this can be fixed by having more confidence which
    will stem from practice and studies.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following