How would you begin doing Life Drawings?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: How would you begin doing Life Drawings?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question How would you begin doing Life Drawings?

So recently i posted a thread on the "Art Schools & Education" section asking about what are some good character animation schools. Shortly after I got some feedback with quite a few schools.
    I've noticed that the portfolios requires observational drawings which i have no experience in drawing. So i'm wondering how would you begin if you have no transportation to get anywhere (huge problem of mine right now) and don't have any experience when it comes to drawing from life? The only thing i know i might give a shot would just be going outside and just drawing people (also my roommate when he isn't looking).
    Other than that what resources are there that i could use to help me get a start on this?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

TinyBird is offline Why you gotta be an angry burd Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,656 Times in 1,619 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Start by going outside and just drawing people and your roommate (and why only when he's not looking? Just go and ask if he can pose for you or if you can draw him while he's watching tv or playing or reading, and unless he has issues or is an asshole I don't see why he'd refuse). And yourself if you have a mirror. Good quality photos can be used in addition to practice.
    Also if they require observational drawing and not just specifically figure drawings, I'm pretty sure you can observe inanimate objects too and practice doing still life drawings (it's good practice anyway).

"I eat comics and poop stylization"
    Comic!
    Sketchbook (Critiques, no compliments please.)
    Tumblr
    Website
    Livejournal
    DeviantArt

3. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to TinyBird For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows