Thread: Taking out a loan for education

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Blog Entries
    Follows
    Following

Taking out a loan for education

Hello all,

I will begin by asking the question. Who has taken a loan out for their art education? This question is not referring to the government loan called the LEA that happens in the uk, but for personal bank loans which run into 5 figures or more.

A little bit of background story. I went through three years of college and then another 3 years at university. He course focused on how you think, like a contemporary art course. But the real sad truth is that the whole 6 years were only really just a taster. Not only that but any fundamental skills aquired were self taught.

I am now 25, I graduated in 2009. I have done nothing with my art career. Not only this but I also do not have the confidence in my abilities. 6 years of further education should have paved the way for this, but it did not. The whole time was an illusionary facade. Now I am thinking I can continue at this rate and look back to disappointment and do something about it.

I have been looking at several artelia (fzd, art depart, gnomon, Lara, etc) and they all look awfully expensive! I have bills and rent to pay, but even if I could save up it would take me years. Now the only other idea would be for a loan. I've never taken a bank loan out. I have always supported myself. So taking one out is alien to me. Not only this but everyone around me also argue that I shouldn't take one out.