concept art from a 3d artist...
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

View Poll Results: what do I need to work on?

Voters
2. You may not vote on this poll
  • Composition?

0 0%
  • Colors?

0 0%
  • Textures?

0 0%
  • Storytelling?

0 0%
  • Fundamentals?

0 0%
  • Value?

0 0%
  • All of the above?

2 100.00%
Multiple Choice Poll.
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

concept art from a 3d artist...

I am not a concept artist but thought that it would be good practice as far as creating new environments and Ideas for new projects.
    composition and details has always been a weakness for me, trying to find the balance between to much stuff or not enough details
    also trying to paint sharp edges in photoshop but also doing these in a hurry.
    I'm pretty much just looking for any type of feedback or constructive critisism.

Name:  ship.jpg
Views: 459
Size:  187.1 KBName:  TmpGiats.jpg
Views: 382
Size:  127.6 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Well an artist is never done learning in my opinion.
    BUT, to be specific with what you are looking for, you need to stop using soft edge brushes / air brushes. It makes things look muddy and fuzzy...everything is muddy and fuzzy in both of these pieces from using soft brushes. I really like the idea's though.

Textures is the last thing you worry about because you want the work to look right before getting too fancy with it (That is also just a matter of how you go about doing things too i guess.)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The perspective in the first picture is totally off. Look for 1-3point perspective.
    If you're a 3D artist, why not creating 3d models of the environment and use them as reference? I do that sometimes too. Sometimes it's already enormously helpful to have some low-poly models in greyscale just for using it as a guideline on perspective and how light/shadow hits the surfaces.