Painting both Digitally and in Oils
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Painting both Digitally and in Oils

Although a complete novice in both I would one day like to be able to paint in both Oil and Digitally to a professional standard. I was just wondering how many people out there are adept in both and how they balanced learning both techniques.

It seems from reading on the net that people suggest learning traditional techniques first before moving onto digital painting. Although as I said I have little to no experience in both I can see the advantages to both. However it seems most of the professionals in the market lean towards the digital side of things so was wondering if it makes more sense to spend most of my time learning to paint digitally, as this is what most professional work is completed in or clients expect?

On the other hand its seems that there is a lot to be learned by painting in oils that will benefit and translate to digital painting and I do like the idea of being left with a physical painting. So basically the long and the short of it is can you learn both oil and digital painting simultaneously or is there a more logical beneficial way to learn?

I am sure in the end it will come down to just paint, as with drawing its the act of doing that really counts (taken me a while to figure that one lol) but just thought i would throw it out there. Would be really interesting to hear from people who are highly skilled in both and hear how they balance both.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 2,199 Times in 1,055 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    I just use whichever media is more convenient for whatever I'm trying to do... I love oils, but sometimes digital is more practical, or suits the image better.