Thanks

Do you ever get treated like a dumb artist?

I'm a doctor of physics for christ's sake. I balance equations in thermodynamics and add them to part of some other set of linear equations on my "geek" board, so I can smoke most MBA's in my math pipe. Nontheless, I get the statement "Oh. You're not a real doctor." from people who can't spell the word physicist. That of itself is enough to get my eyes rolling at some of these hillbillies.

The main point is that so often, when it comes time to haggle over the bottom line, a lot of people who can spell those words and know what they mean still treat me as though (and, yes, I've heard the words) I'm a dumb artist. They think they can get me to work for free. I don't mind doing a sketch or two if it takes me perhaps an hour, but there's a point where it has to be absorbed into the overall manhours (those are oldmanhours for me ) of a project.

What really pisses me off is when some jackass agrees, on paper no doubt, to a specific wage and set of terms, gets the work then decides not to pay me. Eventually THIS dumb artist started studying the legal codes of the state and taking the shysters to court. Lawyers usually cost too much up front. Why are we seen so often as chopped liver?
    http://chronic.tempathy.net/page3.php

This should allow for the largest I have of these images at the moment without re-scanning or even re-photographing them. I'll keep adding more.

http://conceptart.org/forums/showthr...56#post3545456

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,944 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Dumb is as dumb does.

Thanks
    Thanked 4,526 Times in 2,458 Posts
    "What really pisses me off is when some jackass agrees, on paper no doubt, to a specific wage and set of terms, gets the work then decides not to pay me."