Thinking of a Mac Mini as my main desktop for a while... 3D, digital painting ect.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Thinking of a Mac Mini as my main desktop for a while... 3D, digital painting ect.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Thinking of a Mac Mini as my main desktop for a while... 3D, digital painting ect.

EDIT:

Never mind, all.
    I'm going for a custom build PC... For a few hundred more I can have something that's a beast and will last 3-4 years.

Cheers.

Hey all,

So first off, I'm an animation/digital art student and have strictly been a Win7 user for quite some time.

I use Macs at my uni, but still prefer Windows.

I'm nearing the end of my studies and am wanting something that will last me another 3+ years.

I currently own an Alienware M15x, i7 740qm 1.73-2.9Ghz, ATI 5850 1GB, 750GB HDD @7200, 16GB RAM 1333Mhz as my main machine at home.

I also have an M11x for on the go kinda stuff.

Anyway, I want a small form-factor computer because I have bugger all space in my room.... Thus looking at getting myself a Mac Mini...

The only reason I'm considering getting a Mac is for FinalCut Pro/SoundTrack Pro/GarageBand... I use them sometimes, but mainly for group projects it's easier to have the option of both OSX/Win7.

I'd want to run primarily Win7, so partition the HDD and have it bootup on Win7 and switch to OSX when I need to.

I like to tinker and am wondering what options I have on upgrading this.

I've seen vids on HDD upgrades and 16GB RAM is fine for me, however I was wondering if it's at all possible to upgrade the GPU, the AMD 6630M with 256Mb GDDR5 to something with atleast 1GB memory. Preferably something that I can use Cuda for After Effects.
    , hoping Nvidia.

Also, what CPU is it? Is it a mobile version or is it a full desktop one? I'm talking about the 2.7Ghz Core i7 CPU, and what it can potentially overclock/turbo-boost to?