Wold Painter be faster if I delete brushes?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wold Painter be faster if I delete brushes?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Divjake, Albania
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Wold Painter be faster if I delete brushes?

    I want to make Painter as fast as possible without improving my laptop specs.
    There are tons of brushes i don't use so I was thinking how much o a difference would it make if i deleted those.
    Also is there any way whatsoever to make Painter lighter and faster?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. #2
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Which version of Painter?
    If you want Painter 12 to be faster, turn multicore off or set it to your physical cores in preferences.

    http://painterfactory.com/blogs/dans...re-system.aspx

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Divjake, Albania
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Thanks but what about Painter 11?
    Maybe it is normal, cause my laptop meets the specs, but i feel kind of a lag when i draw.
    When i draw with painter i want it to feel the same as when i draw with Paint Tool Sai.
    I love sketching with SAI, then I proceed rendering and modifying with painter but it would be great if I would only work in Painter.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #4
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    It depends on the brushes you use. If a Brush has a feature setting (which usually is about the spread of bristles) you need to adjust that too or the system chugs.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    615
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 162 Times in 127 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Don't delete brushes, you will lose them. You can hide them (individually and whole categories) by clicking on the eyeballs in the Window>Workspace>Manage Workspace (or something like that, I can't remember P11 too well). This may speed up the launch of Painter but not necessarily the performance. Have you installed all the patches? Brushes usually only slow down at larger sizes but Spacing and Feature, as Arshes mentioned, can be tweaked to speed things up.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    759
    Thanks
    656
    Thanked 367 Times in 244 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I don't believe that painter accesses the brushes until you click on their catagory. I don't think deleting them would change anything. I have a number of custom brushes all in one catagory and whenever I select them I get the loading bar.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #7
    fes's Avatar
    fes is offline Level Up - All Access Level 4 Gladiator: Meridiani
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Check out John Derry's info on Hot-rodding brushes in Painter. Which does help a little.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 1

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •