How important is networking in concept art
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: How important is networking in concept art

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

How important is networking in concept art

I've talked to a lot of creative and non creative professionals, who all say that it comes to networking and making connections to people. However no one them are concept artists or game artists, and I know that people skills are more important in some fields than others, so which category does concept artist fall into? I mean isn't this field more about your skills/creativity demonstrated in your portfolio?

Also what kind of people tend to "keep" their jobs once they get them, I'm not sure if this is a field with a lot of office politics or not. When it comes to personality, what do game companies like their concept artists?

I'm still a student trying to collect info on something i'm interested in...I hope i don't soun too clueless

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Thanked 1,819 Times in 936 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by denaliah View Post
    I'Also what kind of people tend to "keep" their jobs once they get them, I'm not sure if this is a field with a lot of office politics or not. When it comes to personality, what do game companies like their concept artists?
    Heh, some of you guys worry about the weirdest shit.

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Star Eater For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Networking is important in any profession.
    But for the moment you might want to focus on improving drawing skills to become REALLY good, so good that YOU'll be the one to decide whether to "keep" an employer or not. And not vice versa.

5. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Maidith For This Useful Post:

dpaint is offline Registered User Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,881 Times in 2,355 Posts
    Follows
    Following