Sketchbook: Jonathan L's Sketchbook

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Jonathan L's Sketchbook

Hey, everyone! My name is Jonathan, I'm 22 years old and I want to learn how to draw. I find drawing and art in general fascinating. CA is one of my favorite websites and online communities. The talent here is incredible and many of its users are friendly, and offer great advice. Just from lurking alone, I've learned much. One of the more important things I learned thus far is that drawing is actually something that can be learnt and not just some innate ability that few, gifted, individuals are born with. That was a major misconception I had and it stole away the hard work the artist puts into it. I'd also like to say that MindCandyMan's sketchbook has been a huge inspiration among other great work and devotion I see here.

I have no background in drawing, so I'm starting at the basics. I do have a Wacom tablet, but I plan to avoid digital until I've got this traditional stuff down. I've got some drawing books that will help me along the way, but I want the majority of my post to consist of still life drawings.

1. My supplies
    2. My books
    3. Self-portrait that looks nothing like me. My jaw isn't that squared and I don't resemble a lumberjack... unfortunately.

Sorry for the quality of the scan. I drew it lightly with my 2H. Anyway, I'm excited to be here and I'll post some more work tomorrow.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Here's some stuff I did earlier today:

1. Had a cup of tea earlier and decided to draw it.
    2. Some doodles from imagination. Constantly find myself drawing circles and triangles over and over again when I should be doing studies.