Portrait critique please =)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Portrait critique please =)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Portrait critique please =)

This is my first attempt at doing portraits, I don't like them but I promised to do it to this friend, and also isn't bad to practice on something I've never done =)

It was done with Photoshop and several photo references. The teeth were the most difficult part for me =/

I'd love some criticism, I see a lot of failures, but I think there could be more and would like to realize them. Thank you!

Edit: I can't see the image attached, if I did something wrong or you can't see it too here it is: http://kaelula.deviantart.com/#/d59c809

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,926 Times in 2,380 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    You don't have a good grasp of anatomy and its hurting your depiction. Everything is flat and the lighting is unflattering. You might try a three quarter view with better light and pay closer attention to proportion and planes of the head.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 2,298 Times in 1,410 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Get "Drawing Head and Hands" by Loomis and see how he does it.

While we are at it, you ought to get "Successful Drawing" too, this shows a serious need for a better drawing method.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to arenhaus For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by arenhaus View Post
    Get "Drawing Head and Hands" by Loomis and see how he does it.

While we are at it, you ought to get "Successful Drawing" too, this shows a serious need for a better drawing method.