To art, or not to art?

View testimonialsView Artwork

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

To art, or not to art?

Hello! I'm a college student and I'm looking for some input on my current struggles in discerning whether or not to go into the art industry.

To give you some background on who I am, I'm a 20 year old college student, going to be a Junior (3rd year student) in the fall. My life for the first two years of college were extremely foreign, the college workload, moving from home to home (to home), new peer environments, new job, changes in family dynamics, led me to stress so much that by the end of my first year in college I stopped making artwork completely. By spring break of my second year of college I began thinking more about going back to art, but by this time I had already applied for the liberal arts college at multiple universities to study history (a passion of mine as well) after spending a semester thinking about what I wanted to do with my life. Since spring break, I have talked with artist friends of mine to understand their struggles in making their decision, and now I want to get more perspectives.

I invite you to tell me your story about how you made the decision to be an artist.

For those of you who like being given a question: what struggles did you face, and how did you respond to your struggles to becoming an artist?

My hope is that with your combined answers I will be able to see something I haven't seen before.

Your time and input is much appreciated!

Thank you,

CPT

PS - I have posted this in the Into section of CA, but I'm re-posting here due to the higher amount of traffic and responses of experienced artists, and because I'm not sure my question is appropriate for the Intro section...

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Thanks
    Thanked 1,821 Times in 938 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Hi and Welcome

Read these words of wisdom from Jason Manley, I think you might find them interesting.