Painter Really slow in Windows 7 64bit

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Divjake, Albania
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Painter Really slow in Windows 7 64bit

    I have a Quad core pc 4Gb ram radeon Dual graphics that can go up to 1gb dedicated memory and still doest seem to support painter.
    I installed painter 12 and it was really slow, then i installed painter 11 and it was a little better but not worth working with.
    Other software like Photoshop CS6 work just fine.
    Is it Windows 7 fault?
    What can i do cause i love painter.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,047
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 195 Times in 158 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    is your win7 32 bit or 64 bit? if 32 bit, painter 12 can only use 2 GB of ram. it's incredibly ram hungry, and it is also the slowest painter version ever so far.

    make sure to install all updates (hotfix 1, 12.1, 12.2, all posted on corel.com/painter, you might need to switch website location to North American to get all files listed), because they address brush lag, undo lag and, apparently, start up times as well.
    also make sure to check painter preferences, performance and set up undo values to something manageable, I'd suggest about 15-20 steps on a 32 bit OS, and assign 100 % of ram on 32 bit windows (100 % = 2 GB in that case).

    > Is it Windows 7 fault?
    not likely, because > Other software like Photoshop CS6 work just fine.
    12's performance on mac makes me cringe.
    > What can i do cause i love painter.
    use an earlier version, 11, X or even IX.5

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Divjake, Albania
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Thanks for the reply ikken.
    it seemed the problem with it was the copy I had.
    I downloaded from the site and now it works like a charm.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 31 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ikken View Post
    painter 12 can only use 2 GB of ram.
    er, I believe this is no longer true in P12 and only applies to earlier versions. See here. Not saying this has seen an incredible improvement in performance however. But by doing the Shit+i I have checked that P12 is definitely 'seeing' more RAM than P11 on the same system.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fes View Post
    er, I believe this is no longer true in P12 and only applies to earlier versions. See here. Not saying this has seen an incredible improvement in performance however. But by doing the Shit+i I have checked that P12 is definitely 'seeing' more RAM than P11 on the same system.
    You need to reread what ikken said. He said 32bit can only use 2gb of RAM.

    This is why MAC users are frustrated because they have waited over a year for 64bit and want to use more of their available RAM.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 31 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Arshes Nei View Post
    You need to reread what ikken said. He said 32bit can only use 2gb of RAM.

    This is why MAC users are frustrated because they have waited over a year for 64bit and want to use more of their available RAM.
    Ah right. Sorry I missed that bit.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Chihuahua mexico
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 43 Times in 30 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    My painter was also slow on a past quad core machine, but after ive changed to a corei7 works like a charm, i got 16 gigs of ram, but painter doesnt use them all, with windows and painter it uses only like 4 gigs. Never consumes more.

    There are no such things as bad art, just tight deadlines.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,047
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 195 Times in 158 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    ^ that's interesting. I have an i7, and painter 12 is slower than any previous version (emulated powerpc IX.5, v. X, v. 11 trial);
    start up times got better in 12.2, but it is still disappointing.

    by the way, how many undo steps do you have assigned? maybe it's somehow related to undo numbers and it would use more ram if you allow it.
    4 GB is better than those 2 we're still restricted to on mac, but considering recent painter's memory leaks it's just so corel.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Well personally speaking of course I keep my undos to the default 32. If I need more undos I'm doing something wrong. I should probably even half that.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 3

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Register

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
The Art Department
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook