Art: Derrah's Portfolio (please critique)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Derrah's Portfolio (please critique)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Derrah's Portfolio (please critique)

Hello, I'm a recent graduate with a BA in Animation, but I'm definitely more of a layout painter/story board artist. Here's a link to my portfolio blog (I'm currently uploading samples to my gallery - but my connection is lagging). Any feedback as to what I should improve, whats missing or what I should focus on/flesh out would be very helpful. Thanks all! Most of the work was created in photoshop, some of my newer stuff is using Matias' brushes (thanks for those, pure lifesaver - this man deserves all the monies).

Here is the link: http://www.derrah.blogspot.ca/

I'll update a gallery link when I'm finished uploading some work there.
    Thank you kindly

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Wait here are some samples:

(these are all from the last few weeks)

(WIP)

These are from the last year:

There are plenty more of my blog as well!

Last edited by derrah; June 29th, 2012 at 04:49 PM. Reason: added rough dates

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Your more powerful pieces are the landscapes

My nitpicks are the proportions of your anatomy on the two last pieces:
    the girl's arm seem slightly off

The guy's chest needs to be ultra wide for his shoulder joints to pop out of that mech construct in the last piece+ if that is the case his arms and figure must be too short so not sure what to make of it.

Another thing that seems strange to me about the last piece is the concept's weight distribution: A metal rig like that must weigh on a person(forgive me for the assumption but the red communist star suggests that he is not an alien and the tech suggests you were aiming at science fiction) and it is not very believable that his back and abdomen alone can support that kind of weight.