Composition and global crits request

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Composition and global crits request

Hello there, it's my first post in this forum (hope I'm not doing it wrong) and here is the WIP I started, it's my first attempt for a full color picture.

I hope you could help me about various stuff on this piece, I really need some advices ! I feel stuck and a little "lost in the way".

I have some problem with "technical" point of view, I feel I'm making some part too smooth and don't know how make the global image stronger. I feel I may have some problem in the composition too...

And of course, if you have any crits, tips, advices feel free to share them, I really want to improve and I will be glad to try different things !

Thanks you for reading

Name:  Lorraine223-3.jpg
Views: 173
Size:  481.1 KB

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Nice work.

I feel the character's position is not ideal, I'd move her closer to that corner (move her a few steps up on the painting) OR change her orientation so that she looks more focused on those writings on the stone. There might be a few things to check for the anatomy of her head even though it s too small for me to tell for sure.

I think her shadow has to stretch a bit more to the right, I'd expand the halo from the fire on the ground too. I'd put a few more highlights on the monster coming from the fire, not just on the eye. I am no expert to I cant tell you in details, you'd need to poke around with those lights.

My 2 cent...

Edit: I think moving that character in the corner would be the best option actually, it would make the situation dramatic by getting her closer to the monster's reach.

Edit2: For the face, I think her nose is a bit misplaced, given the angle it should be sticking out a bit more.

Feel free to disagree with my comments, I am no expert.