Art: Need some critique on a portrait

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Need some critique on a portrait

Hello, so I was hoping to get some input to help myself improve at drawing. Some background, I'm studying engineering but love drawing and have taken a huge interest into it as of late. My goal and enjoyment comes from being able to draw portraits and people. I've started reading anatomy books to help myself learn the features of the human body, and plan to take a art class on the side once school starts.

Anyway's I tried to draw Natalie Dormer who plays Margaery Tyrell and personally I think Its one of my best portraits so far. Im obviously still learning form and perspective etc, but I'm having trouble drawing realistic female eyes, with that charm that makes the eyes look attractive. Also the same problem goes for the lips. Besides those can I get some suggestions on what to improve, and places that I haven't drawn correctly. Thank you for your input everyone.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hello,
    The thing is that you need to learn to draw from life, not from photographs. It's obvious that you still have to teach yourself to see abstract shapes instead of things. Don't draw lips, draw accurately the shape you see instead. Squint, soften your focus, do whatever it takes to see it. That way, you will be able to put down on paper what is there, not what you think is there - which is big difference.

I'm looking forward to see more.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    merl1n gave you a good advice.

You´ve rather drawn what you had in mind than what is really there.
    Beginners tend to draw the image that they have in mind rather than drawing what is really there. And while beginners are doing that, they forget about all the other things they should see - distances and angles.